You are here:
Print

The Settings Menu

Users with Editor or Adviser privileges can perform advanced section management functions using the menu items that can be accessed by clicking the Settings icon.

Click the Settings icon, then scroll down to the appropriate menu item, to select a feature.

Settings

Select Settings to bring up the Modify Section dialog.

Here you can update section details, add and delete pages, and assign users to work on a section.

  • Section Name
    • Change the Section Name to rename the section.
  • Pages
    • Change the Pages to adjust the number of pages in the section. If you increase the page count, new pages will be added at the end of the section. If you decrease the number of pages, pages will be deleted from the end of the section. A warning will appear asking you to confirm. Once pages are deleted they cannot be retrieved.
      • Book logic warning: If you change the page count by an odd number, the updated section will potentially break a spread in subsequent sections. In other words, left-hand pages will become right-hand pages, and right-hand pages will become left-hand pages. If you do this, a warning will appear asking you to confirm. You will not be allowed to break a spread if any of the affected sections have a status of Checked Out, Complete, or Reviewed.
  • Color Code
    • Click a Color Code to choose a color for the section.
  • Assign Users
    • Check the box next to the name of the any Staff user(s) to give them permission to edit the section. Multiple users can be assigned to the same section. Click OK when finished.

Arrange Pages

Select Arrange Pages under the Settings icon to bring up the Arrange Pages dialog.

Here you can rearrange the pages in a section. You can only arrange pages for a section with a status of In Progress. You cannot arrange pages for a section with a status of Checked Out, Complete, or Reviewed.

Click and drag a page and then drop it in the desired location. Click OK when complete. The section will be updated with the new page order.

Split

Select Split under the Settings icon to bring up the Split Section dialog.

Here you can split a section into two separate sections. You can only split a section with a status of In Progress. You cannot split a section with a status of Checked Out, Complete, or Reviewed.

Select the page which you would like to be the first page of the new section. Click OK when complete. The section will be split at the point you selected, and a new section will be created.

Merge Down

Select Merge Down under the gear icon to merge the current section with the section below it. The two sections will be merged together. The current page order will be maintained.

You can only merge two sections that are adjacent to each other in the book, and only if each has a status of In Progress. You cannot merge sections if either of them has a status of Checked Out, Complete, or Reviewed.

Delete

Select Delete under the gear icon to delete the current section.

You can only delete a section with a status of In Progress. You cannot delete a section with a status of Checked Out, Complete, or Reviewed.

You must type YES into the Delete Confirmation dialog in order to confirm that you want to delete the section. Then click OK.

Important: Deletion of a section is permanent and cannot be undone.

Article Topics